The Festival

The Salt Spring Film Festival Society is a non-profit charitable society incorporated in 2008, whose mission is to educate, inspire and activate our community through a Festival of independent documentary film from Canada and around the world. We present films that explore social justice, the environment, art and culture, politics and food security. Filmmakers are invited to the Festival to present their films and lead lively discussions.

Since 1996

History of the Festival


Therin Gower, President
David Abbey, Vice President
Sue Sheane, Secretary
Neil Martin, Treasurer
Leith Martin, Director
Glynis Finer, Director
Charley Miller, Director
Miriam Reid, Director
Larisa Sayers, Director
MJ Sexton, Director


James Cowan, Festival Manager
Steve Martindale, Programming & Marketing